Member Info‎ > ‎Awards‎ > ‎

Melvin Jones Fellows

Melvin Jones was born on January 13, 1879 in Fort Thomas, Arizona, the son of a United States Army captain who commanded a troop of scouts. Later, his father was transferred and the family moved east. As a young man, Melvin Jones made his home in Chicago, Illinois, became associated with an insurance firm and in 1913 formed his own agency.  He soon joined the Business Circle, a businessmen's luncheon group, and was shortly elected secretary. This group was one of many at that time devoted solely to promoting the financial interests of their membership. Because of their limited appeal, they were destined to disappear. Melvin Jones, then a 38-year-old Chicago business leader, had other plans.

"What if these men," Melvin Jones asked, "who are successful because of their drive, intelligence and ambition, were to put their talents to work improving their communities?" Thus, at his invitation, delegates from men's clubs met in Chicago to lay the groundwork for such an organization and on June 7, 1917, Lions Clubs International was born.  Melvin Jones eventually abandoned his insurance agency to devote himself full time to Lions at International Headquarters in Chicago. It was under his dynamic leadership that Lions clubs earned the prestige necessary to attract civic-minded members.  The association's founder was also recognized as a leader by those outside the association. One of his greatest honors was in 1945 when he represented Lions Clubs International as a consultant in San Francisco, California, at the organization of the United Nations.

Melvin Jones, the man whose personal code – "You can't get very far until you start doing something for somebody else" – became a guiding principle for public-spirited people the world over, died June 1, 1961 at 82 years of age.

Oak Creek Lions Melvin Jones Fellows Recipients

*Arthur A. Bury – 1982

*Earl J. Nowak – 1985

*Harold A. Tenner – 1985

*Warren F. Ackerman – 1986

*Leonhard J. Weiss – 1986

*James G. Sobon – 1989

*John Running – 1990

*Roman J. Lewendowski – 1990

*Michael Tuska – 1992

*Roy Watters – 1992

Raymond Sagan – 1993

*Erwin L. Semski – 1993

Gerald G. Ashbaugh – 1994

Fredrick G. Fairbanks – 1994

George J. Manka – 1994

*John D. St. John – 1994

*Ray Teglia – 1995

*Bob Bauer – 1995

*Ralph Nebel – 1995

Jesse Marinello – 1997

Ronald Lundell – 1997

Allan Hobbs – 1997

Philip Buckland – 2000

Richard Iverson – 2000

Ronald F. Lorge – 2000

*Ceil Nowak – 2000

*Marv English – 2000

*Leonhard J. Weiss - 2002 (Progressive)

*Warren F. Ackerman-2002 (progressive)

Jordan Chadwick – 2002

Leo S. Muszynski – 2002

Tom Vollmer – 2002

James C. Penn – 2002

John Angiolo -- 2006

Carl Marquardt—2006

Robert Maciejewski – 2006

James McDonough – 2006

Nellie Ackerman – 2006

Eileen Hobbs – 2006

Shirley Stone – 2006

* Deceased